Choose your STYLE!!!

segunda-feira, 18 de janeiro de 2016

Pink Floyd - Animal Instincts

Pink Floyd
May 9th 1977
Alameda Coliseum
Oakland CA, USA

Audience:  Rating is 8/10, Recorded from the audience by Reinhardt Hollwein.

Notes (from many sources):
This two CD set features a complete show from the 1977 Animals tour (aka 'In The Flesh' tour).  It's notable for it's very good performance and the rare encore of  'Careful With That Axe, Eugene' --a song that hadn't been played for a few years at that time, and has never ever been played since then. It's an audience recording, but of such good quality that this show has been bootlegged many times under many different titles:  'Oakland Coliseum,' 'Animal Instincts,' 'Plays the Animals,' ‘Mr. Pig,’ and 'In The Flesh' are among the most popular and common boots.  I’m including artwork for each of these so you can use what you like – it’s all from the same show.  My original CD copy was “Plays the Animals,” but last year I was given “Animal Instincts rev B,” and its sound is definitely superior, which is the source for this particular posting.

A great recording of a great concert.  The band seems to be having a lot of fun (something I assume was rare during the In The Flesh Tour).  Roger and Dave laugh hysterically during the first verse of "Have a Cigar."  Roger Waters shows some real venom in 'Pigs,' and 'Shine On You Crazy Diamond parts VI-IX' features some outstanding jamming which cannot be heard on the original studio recording.  The overall set list is a winner too, including "Eugene" as the final encore.  David Gilmour does seem to get a little annoyed at the crowd before "Us and Them" - he tells the crowd "This one's got a quiet beginning."  “Pigs” is much more powerful (and heavier) than the studio cut, with lots of extended jamming added as well.  There is a cut in “Shine On,” probably due to a tape flip.  There are a couple of loud BOOMS during WYWH, like the microphone was dropped, so be aware of that.  Otherwise, a great, full Animals and Wish You Were Here set, with Dark Side of The Moon encores.

1. Sheep
2. Pigs On The Wing (Part 1)
3. Dogs
4. Pigs On The Wing (Part 2)
5. Pigs (Three Different Ones)
6. Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Parts 1-5)
7. Welcome To The Machine

1. Have A Cigar
2. Wish You Were Here
3. Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Parts 6-9)
4. Money
5. Us And Them
6. Careful With That Axe, Eugene

Mais um grande presente de Peter Hammil...
Thanks man.

Nenhum comentário:

Postar um comentário

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...