Choose your STYLE!!!

sábado, 18 de junho de 2016

A-440 (Ulysses - The Greek Suite) - Prog Rock

A-440 appears to have been a studio entity built around the talents of writer/keyboardist Michael Rapp. Produced by J.J. Jorgensen A-440's debut came in the form of a rather bizarre 1978 effort entitled "Ulysses, the Greek Suite". Released for 20th Century Fox, the resulting 23 track, double album set was clearly intended as a concept piece built on ancient Greek mythology. Written and arranged by keyboardist Rapp, musically the set showcased the talents of singers Ted Neeley (who'd previously released several solo efforts and starred in the film "Jesus Christ Superstar") and Yvonne Iverson. Neeley wasn't half bad, displaying a nifty gruff voice that was well suited for more mainstream rock (the MOR Ambrosia-styled 'Ithaca'). 

Recalling Yvonne Elliman, Iverson wasn't as impressive, though it didn't matter since her performances were scattered far and wide ('Polyphemus (Island of the Cyclops)'). Exemplified by material such as the instrumental 'Greetings from Olympus', 'Ulysses Theme' and 'Island of the Lotus Eaters' the collection was heavy on pomposity, complete with spoken word narratives and over-the-top ELP-styled synthesizers and keyboards (check out the instrumental 'Greetings from Olympus'). Hardly something to get excited about, though it would have made for dandy background music when you were studying the Classics. (The album was originally released with an elaborate gatefold sleeve and included a multi page lyric insert.)

Acoustic Guitar – Peter Klimes
Backing Vocals – Channen Junge, Cindy Snyder, Grant Goracy
Bass – Bob Gross, Craig Meacham
Creative Director – Joey Reynolds (2)
Design [Cover], Illustration – J. Daniel Chapman
French Horn – Darrel Gardner
Guitar – Carlos Luevano
Harmonica – Peter Klimes (tracks: B4)
Harp – Maureen Love
Mastered By – Brian Gardner
Music By, Lyrics By, Arranged By – Michael Rapp
Narrator – David Arias
Percussion – Billy Myers, Ian Hoffman
Producer – "JJ" Jorgensen*
Producer [Assistant Producer] – Skip Konte
Saxophone – Lee Secard
Steel Guitar – Jim Eaton (tracks: D3)
Trumpet – Darrel Gardner

2 comentários:

  1. Obrigado Breu!!!!

    Este não conhecia.....vou ouvir com atenção....

    Aparenta ser um grande trabalho!!

    Peter Hammill - SP


    1. Fala Peter, eu tb nunca havia escutado esta obra. Muito bom Breu!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...