terça-feira, 14 de março de 2017

Soulful Grooves - R&B Instrumental Classics

Hip-O's Soulful Grooves, Vol. 1: R&B Instrumental Classics is an entertaining 14-track collection that contains both familiar and obscure soul, funk and soul-jazz songs from the late '60s and early '70s. The song selection doesn't necessarily hold together -- it's weird to have Cannonball Adderley's "Mercy, Mercy, Mercy" flow into Jimmy Castor's "Hey Leroy, You Mama's Callin' You" -- but it's an entertaining listen nonetheless, featuring cuts from the Crusaders ("Put It Where You Want It"), King Curtis ("Soul Serenade"), Cal Tjader ("Soul Sauce"), Jimmy Smith ("Midnight Special, Pt. One"), Mongo Santamaria ("Watermelon Man"), Hugh Masakela ("Grazing in the Grass"), Richard "Groove" Holmes ("Misty"), Jazztet ("Killer Joe") and El Chicano ("Viva Tirado").

  1. Put It Where You Want It - The Crusaders
  2. Soul Serenade - King Curtis
  3. Soul Sauce - Cal Tjader
  4. Wade In The Water - Ramsey Lewis
  5. Midnight Special, Part One - Jimmy Smith
  6. Watermelon Man - Mongo Santamaria
  7. Sweet Sixteen Bars - Earl Grant
  8. Grazing In The Grass - Hugh Masakela
  9. Misty - Richard 'Groove' Holmes
  10. Mercy, Mercy, Mercy - The Cannonball Adderley Quintet
  11. Hey Leroy, Your Mama's Callin' You - Jimmy Castor
  12. Killer Joe - The Jazztet
  13. Viva Tirado - El Chicano
  14. Hard Work - John Handy

Nenhum comentário:

Postar um comentário

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...